21st Century Web Marketing

I am in the process of updating my web site. It’s about time. Don’t misunderstand me, it worked when I made half of what I do now for presentations, training and speaking engagements. Today, my business is bigger, my approach has improved, my presentations are more targeted to specific groups and industries, and my delivery is more sophisticated. My web site needs to reflect that. The web site presently reflects old thinking that people are dying to read my copy. They aren’t. I hate to admit it, but they aren’t just gobbling up my terrific content word for word.

Most web sites are designed for people to find and sit and read over a period of time or find out “more information.” People don’t “find” your web site. They “google” words like, “leadership training for bankers,” “increasing construction revenues,” “television sales training,” and “increasing healthcare employee retention.” They aren’t searching for “Jim Mathis” or “Leading With Spirit.” So I bought all of those domain names listed (and about 40 more similar titles), like www.incresinghealthcareemployeeretention.com  and www.leadershiptrainingforbankers.com. Those are active.

People aren’t coming to your web site to read your copy. Most visitors to web sites are scanners, not readers. So your home page should be short and to the point. And the point is: What do you want me to do? If your web site doesn’t answer that question with a definite action to take, fire your web designer. Why? Because he, or she, is making money while you aren’t. Make the pages they jump to from the home page lengthy with good content and copy, but the front page should be short and sweet. And now one wants “more information.” They want problems solved. They want to make more money. They want their needs met. What is your site doing to meet their needs?

0 Responses to “21st Century Web Marketing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


