The Economy Is Your Choice

I won’t argue with you that the times for business are tumultuous. They are rough and many people have found themselves out of work, out of business and out of luck. I meet them every day. I can also tell you that many people have to face challenges that they would have never faced if nothing ever changed. I can say with no doubt that had I not had the difficult times in my life, I wouldn’t be the person I am today. Had I not changed colleges, I wouldn’t have met the people I know now who are major influences in my life. Had I not decided to quit my occupation in the church, I wouldn’t be enjoying what I do for a living now. Had my business not fallen apart, I wouldn’t be The Reinvention Strategist. And so on…

When I first became a professional speaker I wanted to motivate people to take action. But something changed…the economy changed. Meetings changed. The world changed. My clients and customers changed. I found that no one wanted to buy the fluffy, feel-good down-home-spun humor. People were hurting and wanted relief from their pain. They were sitting in their seats and listening (most were) to speakers who would come in, do their traveling dog-and-pony show and leave. The feel-good feelings would linger a short while and then it was back to the workplace and the same headaches that plagued them before the meeting. You choose how you react to what is going on in your environment. You either choose to act positively or negatively. It’s all your choice.

Don’t misunderstand me, I am still in the business of making people’s lives better. I just got tired of doing all the work for people who didn’t want to change. I only work with people who want to reinvent themselves in a challenging economy. And fortunately for me, every economy has challenges in it. Charles Swindoll writes, “I am convinced that life is ten percent what happens to me and ninety percent how I REACT to it. And so it is with you…we are in charge of our attitudes.”  And our economic outlook.

About the economy: The US and world economy have taken a beating over the last few years. they have been at the brink, recovered then wandered more into uncertainty. This morning it was announced that several major corporations are reporting profits for the first time in many quarters, but unemployment statistics in the United States (and the world) are still at a staggering rate. No one is ready to declare the recession over yet. You choose how you react to that news. You can either wait, wait and wait longer for the economy to come back to where it was two years ago (and it won’t), or you can choose to act on what is different about it now and make a difference.

It’s all your choice.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


