Archive for October 21st, 2010

Is It Time to “Repot” Yourself?

I like to do landscaping in my spare time.  In fact, my step-daughter thought I was a professional landscaper when she first met me.  I am working on a great looking yard and have various tropical plants in my office.  They are high maintenance and constantly need attention.

For instance, recently I had to repot two palm trees that were beginning to stagnate.  They were turning brown and quit producing new growth.

I was having lunch with a friend this week and he mentioned that he was taking a sabbatical from some of his social activities.  “I am repotting myself,” he said.

“Huh? What do you mean?” I asked.

He explained, “I need to let my roots grow; get rid of the stale soil around me; and put myself in a larger place.”

Wow!  What a novel perspective on reinvention.  Have you let yourself stagnate in the market?  Are your roots “pot-bound” by old ideas?  Have you outgrown your environment?  When was the last time you bloomed (read that stood out from the crowd) or produced fruit (read that results) in your career?

You need to repot yourself.

Yes, it is messy.  Repotting gets dirt everywhere. It causes you to go into temporary shock.  You feel out of place for a while.  But as your repotting takes shape, your become accustomed to the new surroundings.  You acclimate.  You spread your roots and start to grow again.

I want to constantly be in growth mode. I want to bloom and prosper.  I need to repot myself continually.

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


