Is This REALLY My “Last Chance?” Then Shut Up!

I was driving across western Texas on my way to New Mexico the other day for a consulting session.  The sign just East of El Paso said it was my last chance for gasoline, food and services for the next 100 miles.

They weren’t kidding!   There was nothing…I mean nothing for well over 2 hours of driving  -including cell phone service.

When I got into a “coverage zone” I was flooded with the usual SPAM I get day to day.  Including yet another notice from a marketer I hear from all too frequently saying this was my “last chance” to sign up for his seminar, webinar, training series, toaster oven give-away, whatever!

Really?  This was at least the third “last chance” he had offered for the same program.

Price vs. Value. And let’s throw time in the mix, if you can’t give real value. Don’t say it’s my “last chance to buy” if I have to hear from you again and again (and all are my “last chances”).  Hint: I can see you have no value to sell.

So why did I keep getting this unbelievable-too great to pass up-final-no joking offer?  He is desperate and not enough people are buying.  The tactics people use when you don’t deliver value but compete on price…  Seriously, I have received two emails and one electronic telephone call from three different people while writing this telling me this is my “last chance.”

If you use the “last chance” tactic, you better be able to back it up with no more contact or offers if we don’t bite.  Otherwise you look like a desperate fool who can’t sell on the first chance.  Once you deliver value, you won’t need to threaten to pull your offer off the table.

If people won’t buy on value, they won’t buy on time.

You need to reinvent your marketing tactics if you want to sell anything in this economy.

0 Responses to “Is This REALLY My “Last Chance?” Then Shut Up!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


