Who Fired You?

“Instead of dealing with problem customers, I recommend you prevent them from ordering in the first place.” -Timothy Ferriss

Donald Trump has made the phrase, “You’re fired!” a popular cultural slogan with the hit show, “The Apprentice.”  When it got old and boring to watch everyday “shmos” get the axe, he reinvented the format of the program to hiring and firing celebrities.

Good idea?  No, great idea!

People tune in every week to watch everyone from ’70s teen idol David Cassidy to figure skater Scott Hamilton get sent packing. Even former star running back and Heisman Trophy winner Herschel Walker got sacked.

We actually have the same control Donald has…

And we take that control, but don’t realize how powerful it really is.

In the past year, I fired:

  • Comcast Cable (now Xfinity):  I got tired of being told their equipment was fine; mine was inferior.  I got a local carrier and have never had a problem with “my equipment” since.  I just got tired of being told how dumb I was by rude tele-marketers; and I fired them.
  • Wells Fargo?Wachovia Bank: I got tired of waiting for checks to be taken off hold and an ATM card that has taken over 5 months to receive.  My local credit union can produce a working card in 2 minutes and treats me like I matter to them.   I just got tired of being treated like a nobody; so I fired them.
  • My Lexus dealership: I got tired of waiting and waiting to get my car serviced (dealerships make more money on service than sales).  A local auto repair shop can turn the car around in less than 30 minutes and for less expense (and will include the same perks the dealership does).  I just got tired of being charged to wait for a “quick” service ; so I fired them.
  • AT&T:  I got tired of their lack of coverage and high fees. I got tired of being told they have the best network (who doesn’t claim this?).  I went with another service that backs their promises and has the same phone with better coverage.  I just got tired of poor service on the phone and with the phone; so I fired them.

You can have the same authority as “The Donald.”  Sam Walton, founder of Walmart once said, “There is only one boss: the customer.  And he can fire everybody in the company from the chairman on down simply by spending his money somewhere else.”

Some corporations get this, while unfortunately, others don’t. Who fired you?

Why?

Let me know.

0 Responses to “Who Fired You?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


