If You Do What You Have Always Done, You’ll Get A Surprise!

What are you doing that you did two (or ten) years ago that isn’t bringing you results like it did when you started?

If you do what you have always done, you’ll get LESS than  what you always got before!  Not the same. It is the law of diminishing returns in your life and business. You can’t keep doing the same thing without losing the returns from the action or practice.

I heard a trainer say, “I send my proposals by FAX because no one else is doing it.” I asked him, “Why don’t you send it out by Pony Express? No one is doing that either.” He didn’t think it was funny (I still do).

Here is why: I tried sending a proposal by Western Union Telegram about six years ago. It didn’t even get noticed.

If it is an old practice that no one is doing there is a good reason for that fact. It is obsolete.

I believe in doing things different, but not something that has been replaced by history or modern technology. In presentations I use less overhead projectors (I am getting away from traditional PowerPoint – most people are grateful!).

I ask more questions than give facts in presentations.

I get my news like most people – off the internet or mobile phone.

I don’t use a typewriter.

I eliminated most of my file cabinets.

I don’t go into a bank to withdraw cash, make deposits and transfer funds.

I don’t wear pleated pants.

The list goes on…

Jim Mathis is an international speaking professional, executive coach and Best Selling author of Reinvention Made Easy: Change Your Strategy, Change Your Results.  You may subscribe to his free monthly newsletter by sending a message to:  subscribe@jimmathis.com.

0 Responses to “If You Do What You Have Always Done, You’ll Get A Surprise!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


