Personal or Personnel Dinosaurs?

This is not legal advice!  But there are people in your organization who are costing more to have them on your payroll than they are justifying the cost. They are either: chasing business away; crippling the business you have; or not attracting enough business to cover their salary.

I had a contract worker who was hired to turn prospects into clients. He only did that once in the year he worked for me for a reduced fee (I found out later). I was paying for supplies and overhead to retain his services, in addition to constantly training him. It was costing me much more than her production was bringing into the business. I was finding out he wasn’t working for me as much as she was trying to get more people like me on his list. It just couldn’t go on.

I had to make a decision and I did. I called him and called it off in a nice, professional manner.” He was very understanding and felt it wasn’t working out, either. I secured more business within weeks by freeing myself up to do more efforts that had been neglected. It worked better for him to set him free.

There are people in your organization who are costing you more than their salaries, space or support. They are a dinosaur that is waiting to leave the museum. They need to be set free to pursue what they were intended to do. Look on it as a favor you are doing for them.

Someone let me go years ago and to this day I am thankful he made the decision. It forced me to move from being the curator of a museum to the manager of a living, growing self and business. It will for you too. William of Occam said, “It is vain to do with more what can be done with less.” Where do you need to bury the dinosaur and move on?

Jim Mathis is an international professional speaker and best-selling author of the book: Reinvention Made Easy: Change Your Strategy, Change Your Results. You may subscribe to his monthly e-zine by sending a SUBSCRIBE message.  You will receive articles like this each month.

0 Responses to “Personal or Personnel Dinosaurs?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


