Which Customers Have Become Your “Dinosaur”?

There are customers who are just wearing you out and not producing income or profits for you.  Are there people who are demeaning and abusing your gracious efforts and those of your staff?

Fire them.  Don’t wait on them to fire you first (They probably will anyway).

I worked with a large national corporation several years ago. It was a great income producer to work with the company. They invited me to their annual trade show and gave me a booth with “free range” to advertise my services. We engaged people who stopped by with fun music, a prize drawing and refreshments. It was one of the most popular booths at the show.

The visibility with their customers went great. But the next day she wrote a scathing email to me about how it embarrassed her regional managers who weren’t getting the good attendance I was. She said she had to make them look good no matter what.

Three months later I received a note about meeting with me to move forward with them under her “new rules.” I copied the earlier email she had sent and replied, “Thank you, but I don’t need business this bad to be treated this way. I hope this is a good year for you.”

In short, I fired her as my client/customer. The next week I got four new clients to fill the void created by her absence.

If you keep bad customers, you will only attract more of them. You have some abusive customers who are just wearing you and your people out. They think they own you.

They don’t. YOU own you!

Draw a line in the sand and say “No more. I appreciate your business, but not your attitude.”

And bury the dinosaur.

0 Responses to “Which Customers Have Become Your “Dinosaur”?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Newsletter Sign Up

Share this blog.

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers

Calendar

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages

Twitter Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,041 other followers


